Isabel And The Whispers – (Self Titled Album)


Isabel And The Whispers is a self-titled album from the band fronted by singer/songwriter, Isabel Marcheselli, with bandmates Alec Menge (drums) Octavio Padron (guitars) and Soils Minor (bass). Isabel was born in New York, but her parents were South American immigrants (her father actually worked as an engineer for NASA). It’s also worth mentioning that the songs on this release were all written by Isabel.

You get the idea right away with the opening track, Josefina. Colorfully dynamic melodies and sentimental, poetic lyrics drive the action against a loungy, piano-driven backdrop. The music has a very innocent and timeless feel. It reminds me a bit of Sergio Mendes and Brasil 66. The pacing is mellow, but the performances are as powerful as ever. Emotion lives in these songs. Isabel demonstrates terrific range as a vocalist, and her voice works well with the quaint, rhythmically atmospheric backing music to bring about a pure and delightfully haunting ambiance. The band is currently working on a new album, Isabel and The Whispers 2 – WANDER, which is slated to be released next year.

For more info: